What is the 'make public' option when creating a challenge?
All Challenge Hound challenges are private by default. They can only be found by sharing private challenge links. If you'd like to link to a private challenge, but show some results before participants join, check "make public". Make public will enable a public view of challenge progress, but a private link is still required. Only general progress, participant first names, and charts are shown. No detailed participant information or leaderboards are displayed. Here is an example of what is displayed.
If "make public" is left unchecked, then absolutely nothing except the join page is publicly available. Only participants that have joined will be able to see any sort of result.